Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 6 years ago

Last modified 6 years ago

#5468 new defect (bug)

Removing user on multisite site still shows user

Reported by: daniel.edholm Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Contributions Priority: high
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Core Keywords:
Cc:

Description

Hi

I have a problem when I remove people in the Intranet through the admin tool they remain on the intranet. You can still see them.

Change History (5)

#1 @daniel.edholm
6 years ago

  • Summary changed from Delete user to Removing user on multisite site still shows user

I have activated BuddyPress on my Multisite on network level, but I'm using BuddyPress on just one of the websites.

If I remove a user from the site that actually uses BuddyPress, it still shows the user profile. I have to delete the user from all my sites at network level in order for the user profile to not be visible.

Suggestion: When removed from site X, BuddyPress on site X should not list the user profile.

#2 @boonebgorges
6 years ago

When you say "I remove a user from the site", I assume you mean that you're removing the user from Dashboard > Users on the site in question. When you do this, you're removing the user's Role on that site. The tricky bit is that BuddyPress "membership" doesn't map onto WP Roles in any way. In fact, by default, BuddyPress users don't have any role at all on the blog in question - not even Subscriber.

I think it's a very good idea to allow admins to add/remove network users from a specific BP subsite, but I don't think it can directly map to WP Roles for these reasons. I'll leave this ticket in Awaiting Review to get some feedback from other devs on how we might approach this.

#3 @imath
6 years ago

I think i would create a specific user status to exclude the member from the BuddyPress members (a bit like what is done for spammers).

Then from the users network admin & the bp_get_root_blog_id() admin user screens i would create a bulk/row action to "trash" user from the BuddyPress members. The "trash" status would allow the SuperAdmin to "untrash" if the Admin made a wrong move...

I'll need to check, but i think regular Admins do not have the capacity to delete a user, just to remove the user from their child blog.

Checking if user has a role on the blog bp_get_root_blog_id() would be a problem when BuddyPress is not network activated i think. So we would need to review the signup process to create a role for the user on the blog bp_get_root_blog_id(). Then some (i think a lot) of user would maybe unhappy of this move..

#4 @johnjamesjacoby
6 years ago

Things to consider: single-to-multisite upgrade process, and/or going from site to network activation, and/or changing the root blog. These are the scenarios that have prevented us from doing much about this particular issue.

#5 @DJPaul
6 years ago

  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to Future Release
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.