Skip to:
Content

Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

Last modified 6 years ago

#3888 closed enhancement (fixed)

Data will be lost prompt might be useful before deleting a Profile Field

Reported by: jimgroom Owned by: johnjamesjacoby
Milestone: 1.6 Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 1.5.2
Component: Extended Profile Keywords: needs-patch
Cc: jimgroom@…

Description

I just wanted to suggest that you prompt users that when they delete a profile field under BuddyPress--->Profile Fields that they are made aware that their data will be deleted, or at least tell you somewhere. Fact is, one might think that is a cosmetic deletion or removal rather than a whoelsale deletion of the data from the database.

Best, keep up the awesome.

Attachments (1)

3888-1.patch (4.8 KB) - added by DJPaul 6 years ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (6)

#1 @johnjamesjacoby
6 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch added; rtl-feedback removed
  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to 1.6
  • Owner set to johnjamesjacoby
  • Status changed from new to assigned

@DJPaul
6 years ago

#2 @DJPaul
6 years ago

So I spent a little time looking at this. Patch attached. It's not complete -- the field_id in the data table is going to need to be updated if that field no longer exists (when a new field is created). And we're probably going to need to store old profile field names when they are deleted, so this can be achieved.

#3 @johnjamesjacoby
6 years ago

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

(In [5598]) When deleting a field, do not delete the field data by default. Fixes #3888. In memory of jimgroom's lost data.

#4 @johnjamesjacoby
6 years ago

Variant of Paul's patch committed. No reason to shift the field ID's around as there isn't a UI to merge/replace old ID's with new ones. Similar to WordPress pages/nav menus, I'm fine with deleting the field itself but the children shouldn't get deleted along with it.

#5 @DJPaul
6 years ago

So this change is going to orphan all field data when the field is deleted? Why? Creating a new field with the same name doesn't "restore" the data.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.