Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 2 years ago

Last modified 22 months ago

#7991 new enhancement

Automatic deleting old avatar & cover images

Reported by: shay1383 Owned by:
Milestone: Awaiting Contributions Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 3.0.0
Component: Core Keywords:
Cc:

Description

To save site owners space BuddyPress should delete the old image (of avatar or cover) once a new one is uploaded.
That way site owners that have a big mass of users can save storage space and money.

Change History (1)

#1 @DJPaul
22 months ago

  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to Awaiting Contributions
  • Priority changed from high to normal
  • Type changed from feature request to enhancement

Hi @shay1383!

Storage is relatively cheap nowadays. The problem is for the very oldest BuddyPress sites, we have no way of knowing what images BuddyPress added to a site. There is a chance some custom code or plugin wrote something to the same storage folders that we use, and if we just deleted everything, then we'd quite possibly destroy unrelated data.

If/when the avatar image implementation is overhauled, we could probably support this for new sites.

Last edited 22 months ago by DJPaul (previous) (diff)
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.