Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

#8864 closed defect (bug) (fixed)

Deleted field data are not removed from bp_xprofile_data

Reported by: mike80222's profile mike80222 Owned by: imath's profile imath
Milestone: 12.0.0 Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Extended Profile Keywords: needs-testing has-patch
Cc:

Description

When an xprofile field is deleted, the field is removed from bp_xprofile_fields, but the corresponding data is not removed from bp_xprofile_data. The upshot is that members_search finds both the old and the new data, resulting in incorrect search results.

Change History (4)

#1 @imath
14 months ago

  • Keywords needs-testing added
  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to 12.0.0

This ticket was mentioned in PR #114 on buddypress/buddypress by @imath.


12 months ago
#2

  • Keywords has-patch added

Add a checkbox to let the admin also remove the deleted field data.

Trac ticket: https://buddypress.trac.wordpress.org/ticket/8864

#3 @imath
12 months ago

Hi @mike80222

Thanks a lot for your report. I confirm the issue. In the above PR, I'm adding a checkbox to the Delete field confirmation screen to opt-out field data removal. By default, deleted field data should be deleted I agree.

#4 @imath
12 months ago

  • Owner set to imath
  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

In 13498:

xProfile: let the admin also remove data when deleting a field

Add a checkbox, active by default, informing deleting a field from the xProfile field Administration screen will also remove corresponding data. Opting out of this checkbox will let data in place.

Removing a deleted field corresponding data is improving Members search results consistency.

Props mike80222

Fixes #8864
Closes https://github.com/buddypress/buddypress/pull/114

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.