Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 2 years ago

Closed 2 years ago

Last modified 2 years ago

#7763 closed defect (bug) (wontfix)

Issue with Description Displaying Twice in Extended Profiles

Reported by: michaellanfield Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 2.9.4
Component: Extended Profile Keywords:
Cc: Offereins

Description

Hello. Venutius moderator from bbpress.org support forum told me to post this in here. here is my site https://www.thosecrazyvegans.net

When I add a description to extended profile fields it shows up as 2 descriptions. I would like to remove the bottom ones. This happens to every new field I add that has a description.

Here is the screenshot of what I am talking about. I didn’t do anything different. I just added a description to the new field in Profile Fields.

https://www.thosecrazyvegans.net/screenshot5.png

I deactivated all plugins and still the issue persists. I am using Pro Theme from theme.co

Change History (5)

#1 @Offereins
2 years ago

  • Cc Offereins added
  • Milestone Awaiting Review deleted
  • Priority changed from highest to normal
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

Hi @michaellanfield welcome to BuddyPress Trac and thanks for your question!

My guess is your issue exists since you've updated the BuddyPress plugin to version 2.9. In this release, the profile field description was moved from the default theme templates to the profile field object logic. A theme can have their own version of BuddyPress's theme templates, adjusted for their specific layout. When the templates aren't updated yet for the latest version of BuddyPress, this means that the profile field description still exists in the theme's templates. If that is the case, the profile field objects display the profile field description next to the one that is part of the theme template.

My assessment is that this situation applies to you, which means that the BuddyPress templates concerning profile fields within your theme need to be updated. Please contact your theme author and refer them to this explanation as well as the changeset that I've highlighted here and another ticket that concerns this issue.

If my assessment is wrong, please reopen this ticket and let me know.

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #buddypress by offereins. View the logs.


2 years ago

#3 in reply to: ↑ 2 @michaellanfield
2 years ago

Replying to slackbot:

This ticket was mentioned in Slack in #buddypress by offereins. View the logs.

Hello. What is and where can this be found in the dashboard "was moved from the default theme templates to the profile field object logic"?

When the templates aren't updated yet for the latest version of BuddyPress, this means that the profile field description still exists in the theme's templates. If that is the case, the profile field objects display the profile field description next to the one that is part of the theme template.

  • I am not sure if this is the case, but the Pro theme from themeco consistently updates their themes. Is there a way just to add CSS code to remove the 2nd line of description text?

:) Thanks. But your explanation is too technical even for a genius like me. hahahaha.

#4 @Offereins
2 years ago

@michaellanfield I'm sorry for not stating my answer clearly enough. My previous reply talks about the technical changes in the code of BuddyPress causing your issue, which in my opinion should guide your theme's author towards creating the solution. Please confirm with your theme author they have updated their theme for BuddyPress 2.9, because theme updates not always equal updates for BuddyPress support.

If you desire a temporary fix, you can target the profile field descriptions that are one too many by using the following CSS rule - though I'm not sure if that would cover all cases.

.editfield .description ~ .description { display: none; }

Last edited 2 years ago by Offereins (previous) (diff)

#5 @michaellanfield
2 years ago

This code works great. Thanks. They shouldv'e updated their theme for buddypress, but in any case, if they one day do update it, will I have to delete the code I've added?

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.