Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 8 years ago

Closed 5 years ago

#5308 closed enhancement (worksforme)

Orphan notifications when item is deleted

Reported by: colabsadmin Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 1.9
Component: Toolbar & Notifications Keywords:
Cc:

Description

When deleting anything that has a notification associated with it, it should also delete the notifications. Here’s a screen cap of the notifications panel showing blank subjects because the post/update/topic was deleted.

Attachments (1)

Untitled-1.jpg (28.3 KB) - added by colabsadmin 8 years ago.
Orphan Notification

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (9)

@colabsadmin
8 years ago

Orphan Notification

#1 @r-a-y
8 years ago

  • Keywords reporter-feedback added

Is this only specific to notifications generated by the bbPress plugin?

Does this happen to any of BP's core components?

#2 @johnjamesjacoby
8 years ago

  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to 2.1

#3 @colabsadmin
8 years ago

No. It happens in groups as well.

#4 @henry.wright
8 years ago

I think there might be an opportunity here to address two similar issues.

What happens to a notification when the item is:

a) permanently deleted. For example, hitting the delete button on a blog post containing an at-mention.
b) removed. For example, a blog post is edited to remove a previously published bit of text containing an at-mention.

My suggestion would be to delete the notification from both the unread and read list in both of the above cases.

Thoughts?

#5 @boonebgorges
7 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch added; reporter-feedback removed

My suggestion would be to delete the notification from both the unread and read list in both of the above cases.

Yes, this sounds fine to me.

#6 @DJPaul
7 years ago

  • Component changed from Core to Notifications
  • Milestone changed from 2.1 to 2.2

#7 @DJPaul
7 years ago

  • Milestone changed from 2.2 to Future Release

#8 @slaFFik
5 years ago

  • Keywords needs-patch removed
  • Milestone Future Release deleted
  • Resolution set to worksforme
  • Status changed from new to closed

Just tested this with the latest BuddyPress - removing parent item does remove notification sent to a mention user from both read and unread. Testing with blog posts, comments, status updates.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.