Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 8 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

#4722 closed defect (bug) (duplicate)

BP notification should be deleted if related @mention activity item is deleted

Reported by: r-a-y Owned by: r-a-y
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version: 1.2
Component: Toolbar & Notifications Keywords: needs-patch
Cc:

Description

Scenario:

  • User A @mentions User B.
  • User B is sent an email notification and a BP notification of this @mention.
  • However, User A decides he didn't like this activity item and deletes it.
  • User B now logs in and sees a BP notification for the @mention. User B clicks on the BP notification; however, the activity item was deleted before User B could view it.

What should happen:

  • BP notification should be deleted when User A deletes the activity item

---

Going to try to address this for 1.7.

Change History (4)

#1 @johnjamesjacoby
8 years ago

  • Component changed from Activity to Notifications

This happens in a few places because the notifications component isn't fleshed out to keep every single notification connected to the action that created it. Example: it's possible to be promoted to a group moderator, then demoted, and the promotion notification still exists.

The notifications code should be abstracted into its own component, and act as a private, reverse activity stream.

If the issue in this specific ticket isn't a relatively simple fix, feel free to punt it to Future Release.

#2 @DJPaul
8 years ago

  • Milestone changed from 1.7 to Future Release

#3 @rogercoathup
7 years ago

@djpaul --

am assuming this wasn't a "relatively simple fix" as you punted it to "Future Release" --

Is it something that's likely to come back on the radar?

#4 @boonebgorges
7 years ago

  • Milestone Future Release deleted
  • Resolution set to duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

Duplicate of #5289. This was fixed in r8095.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.