Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 9 years ago

Closed 3 years ago

#2787 closed enhancement (no action required)

Set group memberships and friendships to inactive rather than deleting

Reported by: boonebgorges Owned by:
Milestone: Priority: normal
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Core Keywords:
Cc:

Description

At the moment, ending a friendship or leaving a group means deleting a row from the respective DB table. We might consider changing this behavior so that the data is retained but is set to 'inactive' or something like that.

Change History (5)

#1 @DJPaul
9 years ago

  • Milestone changed from Awaiting Review to Future Release

#2 follow-up: @tw2113
3 years ago

  • Severity set to trivial

@boonebgorges doing some FR issue sweeps. What would the benefit be to marking as inactive as opposed to removing from the database completely? Less processing for both at the time as well as if they re-join or re-friend? Something else?

#3 @tw2113
3 years ago

  • Severity changed from trivial to normal

#4 @DJPaul
3 years ago

  • Milestone changed from Future Release to Under Consideration

#5 in reply to: ↑ 2 @boonebgorges
3 years ago

  • Milestone Under Consideration deleted
  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Status changed from new to closed

Replying to tw2113:

@boonebgorges doing some FR issue sweeps. What would the benefit be to marking as inactive as opposed to removing from the database completely? Less processing for both at the time as well as if they re-join or re-friend? Something else?

No idea. I must have had an idea at the time, but since I didn't record it here, consider it lost to the sands of time.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.