Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 11 years ago

Closed 9 years ago

Last modified 9 years ago

#2146 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Edit / Delete private messages

Reported by: snark Owned by:
Milestone: 1.5 Priority: trivial
Severity: normal Version:
Component: Messages Keywords: dev-feedback
Cc: snark

Description

Can you add an Edit / Delete capability to private messages? In developing this new site, I am now sending a number of private messages between beta testers, and sometimes make a typo or other error and would like to edit, but once sent it cannot be edited or deleted.

Delete would be nice too -- a way to "take back" a message before perhaps the recipient views it, but I can see the issue if you allowed people to delete private messages after they've been view by another user and become part of their "content". But and edit function seems appropriate.

Change History (8)

#1 @apeatling
11 years ago

  • Milestone changed from 1.2.3 to 1.3

#2 @cnorris23
10 years ago

  • Component set to Messaging
  • Keywords dev-feedback added; edit private messages removed
  • Milestone changed from 1.3 to Future Release
  • Priority changed from major to trivial

This sounds like plugin material, as this is a very niche request.

#3 @slaFFik
9 years ago

  • Severity set to normal

Personally I don't agree that we need this in the core.
Editing and deleting messages - for forum topics only, as for me.

#4 @boonebgorges
9 years ago

Yeah, I don't think it's a priority use of dev time. But if someone offered up a nice patch, I don't see a particular problem with putting it in core.

#5 @slaFFik
9 years ago

So, Boone, you think that should be done - ability to edit and delete private message by its sender? For all senders?
Delete only before it was read? And if already read - then no ability to delete, am I right?
Edit - the same logic or just edit at any time?

#6 @boonebgorges
9 years ago

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

Oh, wait, I guess this is kinda weird, now that I think about it. Editing or deleting a message that will affect the way that others see the message (as opposed to, say, deleting the local copy of an email) is pretty weird.

Seems like plugin territory for sure.

#7 @slaFFik
9 years ago

Indeed. That's why I asked you so many question about the way it should work :)

A year and a half ticket closed. The world has become bigger.

#8 @johnjamesjacoby
9 years ago

  • Milestone changed from Future Release to 1.5

Moving closed ticket out of Future Release.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.