Skip to:
Content

Opened 9 years ago

Closed 9 years ago

Last modified 9 years ago

#2100 closed defect (bug) (fixed)

Broken: Wordpress/Buddypress syncing

Reported by: paulhastings0 Owned by:
Milestone: 1.2.2 Priority: minor
Severity: Version:
Component: Activity Keywords: Wordpress / Buddypress Sync
Cc: paulhastings0@…

Description

This is copied from my post here.

We're running BP 1.2.1 and WPMU 2.9.2 on our site. We're using the default theme bundled with BP 1.2.1 and are displaying the "sitewide activity" option on the front page.

When we place the "Members" widget in the sidebar it only displays some of the user's display names correctly. More precisely, for some users it displays their "username" while for others it shows their "display name".

But everywhere else on the site their "display names" are always shown, which is what we want. But why isn't this happening on the "Members" Widget? Logging in as some of the users I see that in their Wordpress dashboard profile that their nickname hasn't been changed at all.

If I change their nickname from the wordpress dashboard then it displays correctly on the "Members" widget. But changing the "display name" in Buddypress doesn't always change the "nickname" back in Wordpress.

But then I log in as another user and now even changing their publicly displayed name in the Wordpress Dashboard doesn't change their "display name" in their Buddypress profile.

So there's some inherent problem with the Buddypress/Wordpress profile syncing.

And yes, I've checked that the "Disable BuddyPress to WordPress profile syncing?" option in the Dashoboard "Buddypress" >> "General Settings" is marked to "No".

Change History (8)

#1 @paulhastings0
9 years ago

  • Milestone changed from 1.2.3 to 1.2.2

Hope I'm not breaking rules here. I moved the milestone from 1.2.3 to 1.2.2 . If yall think I'm too anxious then move it back to 1.2.3

#2 @apeatling
9 years ago

Are these users that have signed up before you installed BuddyPress?

#3 @paulhastings0
9 years ago

No, all of these users joined after I installed Buddypress. There was no existing community of WPMU users if you were wondering.

#4 follow-up: @paulhastings0
9 years ago

Perhaps related to the syncing is the discovery that when a user tries deleting their account from the BP interface nothing happens.

The account stays there and all the information with their account is retained. The user isn't even logged out. If they do log out they can log right back in again. So basically nothing happens when they delete their account from the BP interface.

#5 in reply to: ↑ 4 @paulhastings0
9 years ago

Replying to paulhastings0:

Perhaps related to the syncing is the discovery that when a user tries deleting their account from the BP interface nothing happens.

The account stays there and all the information with their account is retained. The user isn't even logged out. If they do log out they can log right back in again. So basically nothing happens when they delete their account from the BP interface.

I take that back, when a user deletes their account all of their activities and blogs are erased. However their account still remains and they can still log back into the site (and they're not even logged out after confirming to delete their account).

#6 @apeatling
9 years ago

paulhastings0: Deleting accounts works fine for me on 2.9.2 and 1.2 branch. Please open a new ticket if you're having a problem, it's not related.

#7 @apeatling
9 years ago

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from new to closed

This bug was due to a problem with syncing profiles on signup. This is now fixed and should therefore fix this issue for new signups. For existing signups they will need to simply hit the save button when editing their profile.

#8 @paulhastings0
9 years ago

  • Component set to Activity

Cool. Thanks. :)

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.