Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 15 years ago

Closed 14 years ago

#1406 closed defect (bug) (wontfix)

Profile Fields

Reported by: coen-naninck's profile Coen-Naninck Owned by: coen-naninck's profile Coen Naninck
Milestone: 1.5 Priority: minor
Severity: Version:
Component: Core Keywords:
Cc: johnjamesjacoby

Description

Certain custom profile fields do not update their listed name when changing them. I have only tested this with check boxes, but it may also occur with other types of profile fields.

Steps:
1) Create a custom profile field with a check box as an option.
2) Go to your own profile in Edit mode and select that check box as an option for your profile.
3) Return to the profile field in Admin mode and change its name.
4) Return to the profile field on your own profile.

Notice the profile field has not changed.

Note: This issue was first reported by me in this ticket: http://trac.buddypress.org/ticket/1384 in the comment section below the reported issue.

Change History (2)

#1 @apeatling
14 years ago

  • Cc johnjamesjacoby added
  • Milestone changed from 1.2 to 1.3

I'm assuming you mean the selected values for the user? Based on the schema this is not going to be an easy fix. Perhaps jjj can take a look at this with his xprofile development for 1.3.

#2 @johnjamesjacoby
14 years ago

  • Component set to Core
  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from new to closed

If I had to guess, I'd say this is behaving as expected. If you rename a field, the field_id stays the same so as long as the type of field doesn't change, the value should stay the same. If every time you changed the name of a field, it blasted out all of your current users' data, that could be a catastrophic event that would be impossible to revert.

In this case, you'd be better off to create a new field, and delete the old one entirely; since that's what it sounds like you're expecting to happen.

I'd rather error on the side of caution and leave it as it is for now. I'm marking this as 'wontfix' because I think the current setup is the safest option for most users. Feel free to keep discussion going here or reopen the ticket if there's a compelling argument for changing this behavior.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.