Skip to:
Content

BuddyPress.org

Opened 12 years ago

Closed 12 years ago

Last modified 12 years ago

#1008 closed defect (bug) (no action required)

"Deleted" message box appears when clicking navigation items on member's page

Reported by: jeffsayre Owned by: jeffsayre
Milestone: Priority: trivial
Severity: Version:
Component: Keywords:
Cc:

Description

I've done two different, clean installs of WPMU + BP (trunk r1865) and on both installs I have the same behavior. Whenever I click on a members page (logged in as that member) and then visit one of the navigation items, the ajax "deleted" message appears at the top of the content loop output.

This is triggered by a call to this line in each of the index.php theme files of the appropriate core navigation component:

do_action( 'template_notices' ) // (error/success feedback)

This is currently only being experienced on my dev environment:

OS X 10.5.8
MAMP
Only occurs in Safari (current version 4.0.3)

When checking the cookies, there are three "deleted" cookies set. They are for cookies named bp-message-type, wp-settings-1, and bp-message. Since these cookies will usually not store the value "deleted", it must have something to do with a Safari quirk.

Images attached as well. The two photos show this behavior on two, separate dev sites--one with no members other than admin, one with a handful of test members.

I have not spent much time trying to track down this bug yet and have not determined if it is something with in WPMU that is causing the this strange behavior in Safari. I created this ticket just so as to remember what was happening.

Attachments (2)

Picture 1.png (123.0 KB) - added by jeffsayre 12 years ago.
Images of the "deleted" message in Safari
Picture 2.png (77.5 KB) - added by jeffsayre 12 years ago.
Another, different images of the "deleted" message in Safari

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (5)

@jeffsayre
12 years ago

Images of the "deleted" message in Safari

@jeffsayre
12 years ago

Another, different images of the "deleted" message in Safari

#1 @apeatling
12 years ago

Can you run a fresh install and see if this happens for you on there? Thanks.

#2 @apeatling
12 years ago

  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Status changed from new to closed

No reports of this from anyone so I'm marking as invalid.

#3 @jeffsayre
12 years ago

More information:

I am still noticing this strange behavior. I'm now running BP v1.1.1.

When I fire up a new session, after clearing out all cookies, I now automatically only receive two new cookies instead of the three I used to get. They are named “bp-message-type” and “bp-message”. The cookies both have content set to “deleted”. This cause the “deleted” message to be displayed via the add_action( 'template_notices', 'bp_core_render_message' ) line in bp_core_setup_message().

I’m still not sure why this is happen.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.